What to do when this month is over

Getting out for a run this evening was a bit of a struggle, and I’m really glad my #beaststreak Monday runs are over. Monday has never been a running day for me. I have to leave work by 4:30 to get to Sparks on time, so lunchtime runs are really difficult to fit in. Then I don’t get home until 7:30 or 8 and by that time the Monday-ness of it all has caught up to me. Also, I’m tired from my Sunday long run, soccer game and whatever else the weekend involved. (My weekends are rarely restful.)  Plus the Running Room schedule I’ve been following has Monday as a rest day, so I have absolutely no reason to pretend to want to run.

As happy as I am not to have to fit in another Monday run, with five days left I’m already wondering what I’m going to do when the calendar turns to December. There was a brief fleeting moment in which I thought “I wonder how much longer I could carry on the streak.” But honestly my body needs a rest. And without a fixed end date, I don’t think I would be as motivated to run. So that’s out.

On the other hand, I’ve really been enjoying having a specific challenge to meet this month, and a community of people out there all doing the same thing (even if I don’t actually know any of them), and a spreadsheet to report to. (I love a good spreadsheet.) Plus I love the way my body has been feeling (apart from tired) and even looking. So I’ve been trying to think of what I can do to keep myself going on some kind of new challenge in December that keeps me active but doesn’t require running every day.

Anyone out there got any brilliant ideas for December?

November 25

Blog post: this is it (and I can tell you for sure that I will not be blogging every day after November 30th)
Run: 3.2k around the neighbourhood after Sparks.

Edit: I didn’t look at my Garmin stats until just now, but I thought I would share how ridiculously off my GPS data was tonight. This was not my running route. Not even close. Go home, Garmin, you’re drunk!

This is ridiculous

This is ridiculous

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What to do when this month is over

  1. Pingback: I broke the blog streak, but I found a new challenge! | kirky blogs

Leave a comment